Blurting it out

There are few things that I love more than surprise post. Clean sheets, warm bread, onion soup, new yarn – all those things make me smile and make me feel good. These days, most of the post that comes through the door contains bills, junk mail and post for our landlord and previous tenants, none of which spark joy or make me smile. I’m not saying that I’m wailing in a heap when I get such items in the post, just that occasionally, a little something that isn’t a bill would be appreciated. My mum used to say “if you want something doing, do it yourself”, actually, she still says that and for the most part I’d argue that it negates my carefully honed delegation skills – except on this occasion.

A very good friend is having a rather shit time at the moment. They are dealing with a heap of junk that frankly, most people would delegate to someone else while normal life pootles on, punctuated by cups of tea and Eastenders. Not this person – nope. They are mucking in, doing the required to get everyone involved cared for and looked after and pootling on with their lives and if anyone deserves a bit of post loveliness, it’s them. And this is where the Blurt Foundation kicked in with a goody box of treasures and surprises to make a bleak day just a bit brighter.

The Blurt Foundation in Plymouth (my home once upon a time) are a charity that works to raise awareness and understanding of depression and all that it entails. They have a peer supporter network for people to talk to when the fug of depression clouds over any bit of happiness. They want to make you feel better, by understanding depression, tackling the stigma that still (I know) surrounds mental health and illness despite all our knowledge and research. Their strategic priorities for 2016/17 are as follows (and I think I need some strategic priorities too):

  • Increase awareness and understanding of depression
  • Develop peer support networks
  • Collaborate with partners to facilitate learning and innovation
  • Strengthen revenue streams to create a more planned and sustainable future

On the back of this, they have the genius idea of Buddy Boxes. A box of goodies, that you can subscribe to receive every month, or just get a one-off when you need a bit of a lift. You can subscribe for someone and make it a monthly gift that contains some gorgeous, fun, caring and unique presents to make life just that bit brighter. The aforementioned friend received their box this week and said that it made them cry happy tears. I never meant to make them cry, but when they said they loved their box of goodies, that it made a change from tears of sadness and frustration, this is what it’s for. For making a grey day a bit brighter. For having things inside that help encourage self-care when all the caring and compassion is being dished out to others – the paragraph below shows exactly why they help!

“We all need more surprises in life, and BuddyBoxes spread the cheer, encouragement and love.

They’re cheering as they bring delight to your every-day. (A mid-week, mid-month pick-me-up in the post? Yes please!)

They’re encouraging because they inspire you to take time out for self-care – which is essential for maintaining wellbeing and balance. They also introduce you to new products, past-times and experiences that may be enriching for you.

And as for the love bit? Well, receiving a BuddyBox reminds you that you matter. That someone cares. That good things – lovely things – DO happen, and they can happen for you.”

I also bought a one-off box for myself because I also know I tend to ignore Me, beyond the normal every day requirements – one of my resolutions this year was to do stuff that makes me happy and looks after Me. This month (other than my birthday) is being a bit of a sod, so what better way to actually honour my resolve than to have a small treat and indulge in a restorative seaweed infused bath, use a foot scrub and make a cute cross-stitch mantra to hang on my wall/prop up on my desk.

I have a day off today, as you can probably tell. So I’m going to have lunch, stick a film on, do a bit of crochet and be kind to myself. My anti-depressants are doing their job. They have leveled out my moods and I’m (mostly) stable again, but I also know how bad I was before. If my £20 for my box can help Blurt help somebody who is still fighting that fog of depression then that’s a bloody perfect reason to support them.

Don’t bottle things up, Blurt them out.

NB – I’ve not been asked to write this – I’m not a blogger who gets free stuff (other than the Kabuto noodles). I just think it’s too good not to share and tell people about. You’re welcome. 

One response to “Blurting it out

  1. Pingback: April's BuddyBox: The Reaction - The Blurt Foundation·

Leave a Reply

