In which I receive a Howler

It’s not a secret that I am a little bit in love with Harry Potter. No, not the boy wizard himself, rather the idea of magic, secrets, good vs. evil and spells. Never have I wanted something to be real as much as I did when I was reading the books to my brothers, over 15 years ago. I wished for an owl as a pet, a magic world and a wand more with each page turned and each character introduction. Clearly, I need to get a grip on reality but apart from that *small* issue, I loved everything about the wizarding world. So, please allow yourself to imagine my horror at receiving what I can only describe as, a Howler.

I wish it was as pictured – had it been so I might not have been as disappointed. My Howler was missing a screeching voice, a room full of people to witness the humiliation and, well, magic, but it was no less unpleasant. It was, I’m sad to say, a rejection letter from one of my chosen universities informing me that my application would no longer be progressed as I was either unsuccessful, the course had been withdrawn or I had withdrawn my application. Seeing as it was neither of the two latter options, I wasn’t good enough to make their entrance requirements.

Rejection stings, whether it’s the first time or the hundredth time and the only thing that takes the heat out of that sting is moving on and accepting the pain. I’m not out of the game yet as I still have one more option yet to give a decision as to whether I will grace their establishment for 3 years. In the meantime, there is still more coursework to complete, more essays to write and more waiting to be done. I’m 3 modules away from completing my Access Course and if anything, this Howler has given me a bit of a push to crack on and finish it with the high marks I’ve been able to achieve so far.

Nothing worth having or doing is easy, or so some would say. The work I put in researching, studying and getting the good marks is not easy, but it is worth it. I’m just hoping it’s enough to bring me an Owl next time.

Leave a Reply

