Out with the old, in with the new

As has become the tradition since I started this blog, I’m finally getting round to writing the very last post of the year. New Year’s Eve, when the anticipation of the next year builds to a frenzy and we metaphorically wipe the old year away; waves of time washing the beach of the future clean and flat. As with so many blogs I follow and people I read around on the big old ball of crazy we call the interwebs, this year has been anything but quiet and dull.

This year has been one of the most life changing years to date (other than when I married Husband). A year of new things, new skills and new starts. I got ill, got better and then got very (head) sick again – which thanks to the wonders of mood stabilising drugs and the various combinations therein alongside a very patient husband and psychiatrist (not the same person) means I’m better, more stable and happy. We moved house, into what can only be described as a very grown up house…good thing we’re nowhere near being grown up. Then came the slightly bonkers move of starting the process of retraining to be a midwife. I’m about 2/3 through the access course, the UCAS form is in and the waiting game for a place has begun in earnest.

We did Yarndale in a BIG way and then followed swiftly by pottery lessons. In all that, I also got fat (er) and so, to end the year, I started the Couch to 5k plan again, for what feels like the 100th time of starting to run – this time though I’ve stuck with it, plodded away and reached my 5k goal this morning. Sure I’m wincing when I walk up stairs and my heels have blisters on their blisters but I’m almost a stone lighter than when I started 9 weeks ago and for the first time since I started running, almost 5 years ago, I’m really enjoying the progress and the satisfaction I get after a run. I’m not looking to race any time soon and IF I race, it will be for a very good reason – just plodding along suits me fine!

So, as we slide into 2016, the changes that could happen seem like a long way off. Which suits me down to the ground because the older I get, the quicker time passes. On that note, have a happy new year’s eve and welcome the changes just around the corner.

 

2 responses to “Out with the old, in with the new

Leave a Reply

