Of beards and men

Beards have long intrigued and worried me. As a child I wasn’t overly fond of men with beards, apparently having a dicky fit when I met my grandfather who wore a beard. I got over that issue and could be in the same room as him without screaming but as I grew up, men with beards unnerved me and there was something that just didn’t sit right with me about them. It felt like they were hiding something, much like if they were wearing a mask. I detest masks – and full costume suits even more now I’m an adult. As a kid, Disney didn’t bother me – I loved seeing Mickey and Minnie and all the characters as characters; getting older has apparently made me a lot more suspicious of those I can’t look square in the face.

This as a kid was awesome. This now is my idea of horror.

My partners over the previous 14 years have mostly been women and as such were not the bearded type. From 19 to 28 I have shared a bathroom with girlfriends, had two razors in the medicine cabinet for legs and armpits but never had any beards to contend with. If anything, I’ve had more facial fuzz to deal with and have done so with waxing, plucking and the like. The joys of hormonal issues in women are well known to me but a full beard was thankfully never in play. Being with female partners is very different; from the dynamic of two women to the hormonal fluctuations (twice the PMS, twice the stress) but also the personal grooming. I’ve never had a partner that I would consider “girlie”, if anything I was the “femme”, so having a boyfriend after 10 years was a whole new way of life to get used to.

Lesbians…according to The L Word

Husband has never been clean-shaven since we met bar one time when I still lived in Harrogate. It was our first Christmas together and we forgot to bring the electric razor. A few days in and the itch was unbearable so a Gillette (the best a man can get doncha know) was duly purchased. It was weird, I won’t lie, seeing him with no scruff and smooth-shaven. It didn’t last and before long, the subtle scruff was back. Over the last couple of years, its become normal for him to have scruff and it gets a bit long and then all gets shaved off again back to fine stubble.

From this...

From this…

 

Over the last 6 weeks or so, he grew a beard; a proper full on grown up beard. I wasn’t sure whether I would like it but very quickly it became the norm. I think partially as it was a gradual process but also because it was just more scruff than normal so wasn’t really a shock. We went out last night with his mum and partner and she hadn’t seen it – it was a surprise but a good one.

 

DSC_0073 DSC_0061

A work in progress

A work in progress

This morning however, it went. Husband had had enough of the face fur and in the space of 10 minutes, it was gone – a small pile of multi-tonal fur. A couple of years fell away and Husband emerged smiling and smooth-er, back to the normal face. I took pictures before, during and after but as Husband has said, if he wants to grow it again, it wouldn’t be too hard to do. For now, I’ll keep looking at him and being a little bit surprised that he isn’t beardy.

…to this

Leave a Reply

